An explanation and another apology.

I’m going to start this off with a small caveat; this isn’t the first time I’ve had to apologise for a lack of activity on here and it probably won’t be the last. One thing I’ll tell you about myself, in case you hadn’t already noticed, is that time management really isn’t my forté. It’s something I’m working on, and slowly but surely I’ve noticed a slight improvement in my ability to effectively plan and manage my day. That being said, I still have the concentration levels of a goldfish, so it’s definitely an uphill battle for the time being.

There have been a good few things going on in my life over the last year, and these include the three things that have made it really fucking difficult to write. To begin with, I started an HND in Music Management in Ballyfermot College of Further Education, which is great and interesting most of the time, but seeing as the course is pretty much 90% continuous assessment, there’s almost always something waiting to be started, completed or handed in. My favourite aspect of the course was running a gig with some friends in The Grand Social under the moniker Donut Promotions. We had a great night and were lucky enough to have three amazing bands playing: Carriages, Other Creatures and The Notas. It would have been nice to give it an aul plug or two on here to let you guys know about it, but to be honest it was just hard to get into the mindset of sitting down and writing anything at all.

As well as this I started a new real life job back in February. Yes, almost all of us need one, and I was fortunate to get a job that I really enjoyso long as you disregard the late nightsbar-tending in the newest Galway Bay Brewery bar on Earlsfort Terrace, Alfie Byrne’s. If you follow me on either Twitter or Instagram you’ll probably know that I’m a massive craft beer geek, so the chance to work with one of Ireland’s most exciting microbreweries has been a lot of fun, especially helping to get the bar off the ground from day one. One thing about bar-tending which I’m sure some of you will know, is that it’s an incredibly physical job, and after eight or so hours of pulling pints and carrying trays of glasses, it’s far more tempting to head straight to bed than trawl through your unread e-mails.

The final thing that’s been making writing near impossible is not having my own laptop. My own little machine died about a year and a half ago, and in the meantime I’ve been begging and borrowing from my mother in order to do college work and the like, but it simply wasn’t feasible to spend hours checking e-mails and hunting for new bands. Luckily, about two weeks ago, after months of saving (thanks new job!) I was able to buy myself a lovely new laptop with an exceptional soundsystem and since it arrived I’ve been catching up on college work and readying myself for writing this: another apology.

I realise that I’ve probably rambled more than I should, but either way, my college term has now finished and I’m starting to deal a lot better with all these three a.m. pub closes. I’ve honestly missed having this funny little space to rant and rave about sounds I’ve come across, for my own sake as much as anyone else’s, so here I am, apologising once again, but promising, at least for the next while, that I’m back in this world and can’t wait to share the next few months with you all.

All my love and thanks as always,

Amelia x

Leave a Reply

