Donots feat. Frank Turner – So Long.

So, you may or may not be aware that Frank Turner is one of my favourite musicians. I started listening to him last year, and after catching his show at Whelan’s last September, I hightailed it to Glasgow (alone!) to see him at the legendary Barrowlands Ballroom before he went galavanting around the United States and starting a bizarrely loud band called Möngöl Hörde. Basically, what I’m trying to say is, I really quite like him, and have come across numerous musicians thanks to him, so when I heard that he was collaborating with a German band called Donots, I was rather intrigued.

If you haven’t already heard the song, I suggest you give it a listen, and I implore that each and every one of you takes a moment to watch the delightful video! Never has there been such an adorable display of bromance since the days of Bruce Springsteen and the late Clarence Clemons. Together Ingo and Frank saunter through London, arms over each other’s shoulders, smiling, giggling… you get the picture.

Anyway, So Long itself is a real treat. Opening with a nice, chilled-out riff, Ingo Knollmann offers up some absolutely gorgeous vocals, and by the chorus, I’d dare say you’re at least humming, if not chanting along with them. It’s one of those songs with a melody so infectious that it’s not a hard task to envisage it being performed in a stadium; thousands of voices crying out in harmony. It swells with camaraderie comparable to a rather pirate-esque sing-along; raucous and thrilling.

I’m thinking that this track is simply a taster of what these guys can do, and I just can’t fathom anyone disliking it, so I’m off to investigate the rest of their back-catalogue, and may just have to report back with my findings at a later date.

Enjoy, folks!

NB. How in God’s name is their name pronounced? Do nots? Doughnuts? I just can’t work it out… Someone please enlighten me!

Leave a Reply

